Bye Yasmin Ahmad

Yasmin Ahmad, picture via http://babymerv.blogspot.com
Yasmin Ahmad, picture via http://babymerv.blogspot.com

My favourite movie director, Yasmin Ahmad passed away on Saturday. I was alerted to the news by my friend, Hajar who knows I am a big fan of Yasmin’s works.

Goodbye Yasmin. Thank you for the heartwarming movies and TVC you have directed that touches lives.

Yasmin apparently had a stroke on Thursday, 23 July 2009 and collapsed while attending a meeting with Datuk Siti Nurhaliza and her husband Datuk Seri Khalid Mohamad Jiwa, and Media Prima representatives for an undisclosed project.

Here’s the news video report via Sha.tc:

On Saturday , 24 July 2009, less than 48 hours after her surgery, Yasmin Ahmad succumbed to her injury and was pronounced dead at 11:25PM.

Below is a list of movies Yasmin directed:

* Rabun (My Failing Eyesight) (2003)
* Sepet (Chinese Eye) (2004)
* Gubra (Anxiety) (2006)
* Mukhsin (2007)
* Muallaf (The Convert) (2008)
* Talentime (2009)

I have only managed to catch Sepet, Gubra and Muallaf. They were all beautiful movies, depicting love that transcends race, language and religion. You can read my review for Muallaf HERE and also catch some of Yasmin’s various award-winning TVCs.

I need to go hunt down the other movie titles.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Bye Yasmin Ahmad”

Leave a comment